Teapots

This blog URL is “polkadotteapot” as a tribute to the most influential person in my first 23 years of life: my grandma, Betty. A history of teapots and tea parties can be traced throughout our relationship.

My family moved to Washington from the midwest when I was young. This distance prevented my grandma and I from having tea parties in person, so we started regularly having tea together over the phone.

I got my first tea set from my grandma for Christmas when I was seven. It was fabulous, pink, and Barbie. I loved it and kept it years after I’d outgrown the Barbie phase.

The last gift I bought my grandma before she passed away this year was a teapot. I remember the joy on her face when she opened the Christmas gift and made the connection to our long distance phone calls many years earlier.

All grandmothers are special, but mine lit up a room. She was radiant. She had the greatest laugh and the most unfailing faith of anyone I’ve ever met. 

The last three years of her life, my grandma could not leave the house because of a pulmonary disease. I never heard her complain about this circumstance. When asked how she remains positive, she said, “Honey, I wake up every morning and thank God for another day. Then I make a decision to be happy with whatever He gives me. Happiness is a decision.”

Grandma, this blog and my journey to finding joy in everything God gives me are dedicated to you. Whenever I see a teapot, I’ll think of you and smile.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Chris on November 27, 2010 - 1:24 pm

    Thank you for this today. I pray that you not only find joy in this life but enjoy the other fruits of the spirit on your journey. Bless you Jaclyn.

  2. #2 by Jaclyn Rae on November 27, 2010 - 1:27 pm

    Thank you so much for the comment, Chris.

  3. #3 by Felipe Bezerra on November 28, 2010 - 7:38 am

    Hi Jaclyn,
    as I said in another comment we have a lot in common…
    I wrote this one about my grad father:
    http://shalomfelipe.wordpress.com/2010/10/13/love/

  4. #4 by Jaclyn Rae on November 28, 2010 - 6:52 pm

    Felipe, I love your blog! Thank you for sharing it with me and for taking time to read mine.

  5. #5 by moveintoaction on November 29, 2010 - 6:44 am

    I will have to quote your Grandmother! “I wake up every morning and thank God for another day. Then I make a decision to be happy with whatever He gives me.” Beautiful! Thank you for sharing!

  6. #6 by Jaclyn Rae on November 29, 2010 - 8:07 am

    She also used to say, “Honey, don’t worry about anything that’s trivial. The older you get, the more you will realize that everything is trivial.” So wise :)

    Thank you for checking out my blog!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 421 other followers

