Dating Advice From My Little Brother

My youngest sibling (pictured to the left) came over to my apartment and had a sleepover last night. We had an amazing time looking at Christmas lights, staying up late watching Pink Panther cartoons, and chatting about life. These quotes are the greatest hits of his insight on dating:

“I don’t want a girlfriend. Having a girlfriend is like having a really expensive pet with no guarantee on its lifespan.”

“Jaclyn, I think your expectations are too high. If you end up meeting someone that perfect, it will probably be like talking to a brick wall.”

“He dumped you on the phone?! I guess that’s better than getting dumped over a text… which is better than getting dumped on Facebook… which is better than not being told at all and having him just show up one day with another girl. You should consider yourself quite lucky.”

If you ever need a fresh perspective on dating or anything else, I highly recommend seeking advice from a middle schooler. As adults, we tend to overanalyze and complicate everything… but sometimes the answers are quite simple.

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Chloe on December 22, 2010 - 11:09 am

    What awesome quotes from your brother! They all made me smile! (especially the last one -lol) And the photo of him is superb…taken from a really great perspective! xx

    • #2 by Jaclyn Rae on December 22, 2010 - 11:32 am

      Thanks! He brings a lot of smiles and joy to my life :)

  2. #3 by Lindsay on December 22, 2010 - 12:10 pm

    Haha I love this. I think I’ll take some of his sage advice for myself. Who knew middle schoolers were so wise?! Something tells me my 2-year-old nephew might not be able to articulate this quite as easily, but might have the same overall message. :)

  3. #4 by kaberlinerin on December 22, 2010 - 12:42 pm

    he’s a genius. proof that wisdom comes in all shapes and sizes.

  4. #5 by Catherine on January 1, 2011 - 11:27 pm

    Haha, great advice can sometimes come from the most unexpected of places. How old is he?

  5. #6 by sharonchrisafi on January 4, 2011 - 3:07 pm

    Brilliant!
    Btw, have you taken all the beautiful photos on your blog? If so, wow!

    • #7 by Jaclyn Rae on January 4, 2011 - 3:10 pm

      Some of them are borrowed and some of them are mine :)

  6. #8 by sharonchrisafi on January 5, 2011 - 6:34 am

    You’ll go far, Jaclyn Rae :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 442 other followers

