What Love Really Means

What Love Really Means by JJ Heller is my favorite song right now. I hope the lyrics bless you as much as they have blessed me.

JJ HELLER — WHAT LOVE REALLY MEANS

He cries in the corner where nobody sees
He’s the kid with the story no one would believe
He prays every night, “Dear God won’t you please
Could you send someone here who will love me?”

Who will love me for me
Not for what I have done or what I will become
Who will love me for me
‘Cause nobody has shown me what love
What love really means

Her office is shrinking a little each day
She’s the woman whose husband has run away
She’ll go to the gym after working today
Maybe if she was thinner
Then he would’ve stayed
And she says…

Who will love me for me?
Not for what I have done or what I will become
Who will love me for me?
‘Cause nobody has shown me what love, what love really means

He’s waiting to die as he sits all alone
He’s a man in a cell who regrets what he’s done
He utters a cry from the depths of his soul
“Oh Lord, forgive me, I want to go home”

Then he heard a voice somewhere deep inside
And it said
“I know you’ve murdered and I know you’ve lied
I have watched you suffer all of your life
And now that you’ll listen, I’ll tell you that I…”

I will love you for you
Not for what you have done or what you will become
I will love you for you
I will give you the love
The love that you never knew

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by traceystruth on January 17, 2011 - 7:20 pm

    Thanks for stopping by Tracey’s Truth! I’m glad that we both share a love for JJ Heller. I actually just discovered them and now I’m hooked. This song especially, has such powerful lyrics. Just from a quick first glance, I think I’ll be stopping by here quite often! – Tracey

  2. #2 by Noelle on January 17, 2011 - 7:26 pm

    This (along with “Shine” by David Crowder Band) is my favorite, too!

    best,
    -n.

  3. #3 by Chloe on January 18, 2011 - 7:19 am

    Thanks for sharing such an awesome song – I love the words and the music…and the beautiful message within xx

  4. #4 by Katie on January 22, 2011 - 9:07 am

    The minute I heard this song I had to download it for myself! I’ve been singing along to it for the last few days and then the lyrics dawned on me. Going through a lot and while I’m not the most religious person it made me sit straight up and listen in a completely different light. You have another loyal reader – your blog is beautiful. Katie x

  5. #5 by Jaclyn Rae on January 22, 2011 - 12:17 pm

    I’m so glad you all loved this song as much as me! Have a blessed and sunny day :)

  1. Maybe if I was thinner, Then he would’ve stayed. « Adventures of a polka dot
  2. Who will love me for me? « Adventures of a polka dot

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 442 other followers

