Beauty in the Broken Places

When my heart breaks open, God comes in.

I wish I spiritually surrendered on my own accord but, often, I have to fall apart first. I’m realizing that it’s a blessing when life brings me to my knees. It humbles me enough to ask for help. Someday, I won’t have to fall to pieces to seek God’s guidance.

I used to think God would solve my problems and instantly heal my heart if I called on Him. I’m learning that, instead, inviting God into my heart just means that He will allow me to experience everything that will help me grow into the person I’m supposed to be.

Time and time again, God has saved me from myself. He saved me from years of self-loathing, which I expressed in many destructive ways. He saved me from the lies I used to tell myself. He saved me from depression and feelings of isolation. He saved me from the fear that I’m not good enough as I am now.

God is love. God is mercy. God is compassion. God is acceptance. When I forget these things, I forget who I am in this crazy world.

Marianne Willamson says it best with, “The perfect you isn’t something you need to create because God already created it. The perfect you is the love within you. Your job is to allow the Holy Spirit to remove the fearful thinking that surrounds your perfect self.”

Even when it hurts– even when I cry, plead, and don’t understand– I’m thankful that God is rebuilding me. I am not a house built on sand anymore… God tore me down and He’s rebuilding me on rock.

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by maneesha77 on February 16, 2011 - 12:17 am

    Thanks for sharing a very true and amazing post!! I am going through the same.. and like u ve mentioned, I have also realized that everything doesn’t happen instantly! Everything has a time under God’s plan! But if you submit to Lord, as you ve done, you will never ever go wrong! So now I say, you know what God, even if you give this to me or not, I will continue to submit to you in all my ways.. I am sure he is preparing you to do wonderful and greater things in Him!

    “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose” [Romans 8:28]

    Have a wonderful day!! =)

    • #2 by Jaclyn Rae on February 16, 2011 - 9:12 am

      Great verse! Thank you for the encouragement and you have a wonderful day as well :)

  2. #3 by Shiku on February 16, 2011 - 2:35 am

    My biggest challenge in my relationship with God has been to let go and let Him. I constantly find myself trying to handle things way beyond my scope when He’s right there waiting for me to hand over the reigns. Giving Him some of it isn’t a problem, but giving Him everything…whew…no.1 challenge for a control freak like me…work in progress though…becoming a masterpiece for HIm
    :)

    • #4 by Jaclyn Rae on February 16, 2011 - 9:15 am

      Letting go is SO HARD, isn’t it?! I think I’ve let go, then I find myself trying to take over control again. I keep telling myself that when I fall to my knees after realizing that how much I need God, I should just stay there. Someday we’ll get it right :) Thanks for the comment! You’re lovely.

      • #5 by Shiku on February 28, 2011 - 7:59 am

        Like you wouldn’t believe…lol…You’d think we’d happily let God take care of everything and sit back and relax but nooooo…gotta make life extra hard for ourselves…(why we do that is beyond me…)

        Someday *sigh*… :)

  3. #6 by SWK on February 16, 2011 - 4:54 am

    Have you ever heard the song “House You’re Building” by Audrey Assad (Christian artist)? I think you would like it… this post put me in mind of that. “I’m a broken stone/ So lay me in the house you’re building”

    • #7 by Jaclyn Rae on February 16, 2011 - 9:15 am

      I haven’t heard that song but I will look it up today! Thank you for suggesting it to me :)

  4. #8 by shelbyisrad on February 16, 2011 - 8:39 am

    Beautiful words as always Jaclyn!
    And I think God knows we often won’t surrender on our own accord so he allows us to be broken, because he is made perfect in our brokenness and weakness. I love your honesty and truth, you have such a sweet beautiful heart!

    • #9 by Jaclyn Rae on February 16, 2011 - 9:17 am

      Thanks Shelby! I can always count on you for encouragement :) You’re amazing.

  5. #10 by Cindy Holman on February 16, 2011 - 9:53 pm

    Beautiful! I couldn’t agree more!

  6. #12 by Carol on February 18, 2011 - 10:17 am

    “Be still and know that I am God.” I have been reading this psalms over and over to myself for SO LONG! thank you for sharing your heart. You have no idea how this one post spoke to my heart right now, Jaclyn. Praying for you, always my dear friend :) God is good!!

  7. #13 by openingthepages on March 20, 2011 - 4:45 pm

    Thank you. For your ability to be honest. To say the things that so many people think or want to say but are fearful of the judgements and misunderstanding they may receive. I stumbled upon your site but no means of actually looking for it but there it was. I read your blogs and it feels like I am seeing what I have thought, experienced or am going through. I admire your faith and the words you write.

    The quote you wrote by Marianne Willamson identifies with me so deeply and one day hopefully soon the fear and regret will be gone and only happiness will shine through.

    Bless.

    • #14 by Jaclyn Rae on March 20, 2011 - 9:04 pm

      Thank you so much for taking time to view and comment my blog. I was reading Marianne Williamson when I wrote this post. She completely inspires me.

      I love blogging because it introduces me to all kinds of people I can relate to– like you! You are lovely in every way and I hope you’ll stay in touch :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 421 other followers

