Sunshine After The Rain

My last boyfriend made me feel significant. His love lifted me to a place of security. I was comfortable. I finally found someone who felt like home to me. I found someone I wanted for keeps.

He dropped me.

He dropped me because that’s what happens when you need constant validation from someone else. You get dropped. You get disappointed. Then, something beautiful happens as your bruises start to fade. You realize that you weren’t meant to find your significance in someone else anyway.

Instead of searching for myself in God, I searched for God in my relationships. It took me a long time to make that connection, but when I did I found something far more fulfilling than any human love I’ve experienced. I looked for myself in my Creator and I found God-given purpose. I found passion as He daily poured love and creativity into my life.

When God takes away something we deeply love, it can leave us feeling forgotten and overlooked. That’s how I used to feel. But I’m learning that pain is often just the initial stage of blessings. God allows us to feel empty so that we hunger for a greater love.

Matthew 5:6 reads, “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.” I never used to hunger and thirst for righteousness before God got my attention. My spirit was malnourished, but I didn’t notice because I was too busy filling it with other things. Maybe that’s a mistake we all make at some point. We don’t thirst for Christ because we’re drinking in other things (relationships, wealth, job security, etc.) Maybe He uses pain to bring us back to Him when we’ve wandered down the wrong path.

The rain has stopped, the sun is shining, and flowers are popping up everywhere. My heart is bursting with gratitude and praise because I realize that everything beautiful in my life is a gift from God. He lifted me above my pain and set me down in fabulous, bright pink, single girl shoes. I’m thankful that I’ve once again found a love that feels like home and lifts me to a place of a security.

And I know He’ll never drop me.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Surrey gal on May 31, 2011 - 3:53 pm

    I was always saying to my (ex) husband: you are not making me happy. He was always saying: you are responsible for your own happiness. I didn’t believe him then. Now I know it’s true. Because you can’t look for validation or happiness in another person.

    • #2 by Jaclyn Rae on June 3, 2011 - 5:31 pm

      That’s such a hard lesson to learn, isn’t it? It’s so true though… we make the decision to find happiness in our situations. No one can give it to us and no one can take it from us.

  2. #3 by Julie on May 31, 2011 - 6:45 pm

    Sounds like a wonderful place to be.

    • #4 by Jaclyn Rae on June 3, 2011 - 5:31 pm

      It is… I hope you’re in a wonderful place too :)

  3. #5 by ~L on May 31, 2011 - 8:47 pm

    Funny how things change:/ one thing we can count on is our God will never change…

    Great picture at the end! ;)

    • #6 by Jaclyn Rae on June 3, 2011 - 5:32 pm

      You are so right! God will NEVER change :)

  4. #7 by bye2mrwrong on June 1, 2011 - 3:37 am

    I love the line: “God allows us to feel empty so that we hunger for a greater love.”
    I just hope that in the end our hunger will be fulfilled!

    • #8 by Jaclyn Rae on June 3, 2011 - 5:33 pm

      I hope it will be too! I guess that’s where faith comes in… :)

  5. #9 by Kelsey Louise on June 2, 2011 - 3:52 pm

    This is exactly what I needed to hear (read) today. Thanks for a wonderful message. I’m working on getting to where you are.

  6. #11 by leeleegirl4 on June 3, 2011 - 5:17 pm

    God will never drop you. We might try to wiggle away from His firm grasp, but he is right there to catch us.

    I came from a similar place as you. I was utterly convinced that I needed the security and validation of a romantic relationship to prove my place in the adult world. It was only through my pity- party where I whined about being all alone, could I really understand how God never leaves us alone. That truth is worth more than all the guys in the world.

    • #12 by Jaclyn Rae on June 3, 2011 - 5:34 pm

      It’s a tough lesson to learn but I’m very grateful to have learned it. You’re right– the truth is worth so much more :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 442 other followers

