Fingerprints

I keep thinking about Paul, the Apostle, and how much we can learn from him. He was patient, forgiving, humble, courageous…

And faithful. In Galatians 6:17, Paul says, “From now on let no one trouble me, for I bear in my body the marks of the Lord Jesus.” He was easily identifiable as a follower of Christ and had the scars to prove it. Paul was an incredible servant, but he was also just a man. Only by God’s grace did he develop such noble character.

This verse in Galatians makes me consider what people see when they look at my life. I’m not convinced there’s enough evidence of Christ to convict me of being a Christian. I love God, but I don’t invite Him into every area of my life. I don’t always invite Him to work. I don’t always invite Him into my relationships. I don’t always make time for Him in my schedule. My spiritual walk has become a walk of convenience and not a walk of conviction.

God is the ultimate gentleman. He will never force Himself on you, or beg for your affection, or guilt you for abandoning Him. I take advantage of His goodness, at times ignoring or neglecting our relationship. I forget what a privilege it is that the King of the universe would want a relationship with me. I ignore His invitation to develop the very same character traits in me as He did for Paul.

I don’t want to walk the path of convenience anymore. I want my heart to be enraptured by God. I want His fingerprints all over my life. I want His marks all over my relationships, investments, and values. Paul reminds me that God doesn’t just want us to get to heaven– He wants us to live abundantly so that people might see Him through us.

And that’s the best invitation I’ve ever received.

[image via tumblr weheartit]

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by heidiwhitey on August 15, 2011 - 8:59 pm

    Beautiful challenge, Jaclyn. This is the first I’ve read of your blog and I sense your tender heart for the Lord. Keep inspiring through your writing.

  2. #2 by Tay on August 15, 2011 - 9:33 pm

    Girl, its like you read my mind. I have been struggling with the same things…neglecting my relationship with God, taking advantage of his goodness. I’m going to make that my prayer – that I may live abundantly so that God may shine through me.

  3. #3 by scrambled7 on August 16, 2011 - 5:39 am

    This post is one of my favs :)
    I want God to be with me all the way, too. :)

  4. #4 by leeleegirl4 on August 16, 2011 - 5:48 am

    I absolutely love the paragraph about God being a gentleman. I think I might have to write that down somewhere so I do not forget it. It is absolutely beautiful and stirs my heart. :)

  5. #5 by Julie on August 16, 2011 - 6:54 am

    I like that: “God is the ultimate gentleman”. Beautiful. Never heard it before. I love your honesty, Jaclyn. Have been contemplating similar stuff. It reminds me of that verse in chapter 4 of James: Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. I notice that in certain ways I do not refer to God. I think it’s in part because of what I do not include in my environment — yet. While I pray and have returned to memorizing verses, I am not presently doing works that would more readily invite Him in. He’s patient. I believe He sees our efforts and our flounderings and adores us just the same. The conquests are His. I think maybe He enjoys more that we try and that we get up over and over again. I love when you talk about God, Jaclyn. It helps draw me nearer and it makes me smile.

  6. #6 by SPTP2011 on August 17, 2011 - 7:38 am

    It is amazing that our God wants to spend time with us on a intimate level
    Beautiful

  7. #7 by newradicalproject on May 26, 2012 - 11:06 am

    Thanks for this.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 442 other followers

