Wait

I will wait for you.

This sounds like a passive act, but I assure you it’s not. Waiting is an active choice. A promise you recommit everyday.

Waiting makes you brave.

Waiting means going to another wedding alone. It means an increasing frequency of awkward questions about why you’re still single. Waiting means spending some Friday nights at home because you declined dinner with Mr. Almost-But-Not-Quite-Right.

I will wait for you.

You and I will get lost in each other’s company. We’ll lie on our backs with interlocked fingers and watch cloud shapes all afternoon. We’ll cuddle up on the couch with warm blankets and tea and listen to the rain. You and I will climb mountains together.

You will never doubt my affection or intentions. I will wrap my arms around you and tell you I’m crazy about you every day. You will disappoint me at times, as I will surely disappoint you, but I already forgive you darling. We’ll fight and say the wrong things, but it will only bring us closer.

I will wait for you.

We’ll go to sleep at night and I’ll whisper, “I had the time of my life, fighting dragons with you today.” I’ll fall asleep the same way I’ll wake every morning… To the sound of your heartbeat  pounding in my ear.

We’ll leave spaces in our relationship. Spaces to grow and experience things separately. Spaces that will enhance our connection because we’ll constantly encourage and inspire each other. And even when we’re apart, your beauty and love will chase after me.

I won’t settle for less and I hope you won’t either.

I will wait for you. Because you are worth waiting for.

image via tumblr

19 thoughts on “Wait

  1. That is (as always) incredible. I totally agree with you that waiting is not passive. Isaiah said that even those that wait will “run and not grow weary, walk and not faint.” I think is has become far too common for people to use “waiting” as an excuse for laziness. Whoever your waiting for better be working his butt off to become a man of integrity if he is to be worthy of you!

  2. Wow, that was encouraging.

    As a man, it’s tough as well. Especially when everyone is off getting married.

    But I have my faith in God.
    He proved Himself two days ago, he’ll prove Himself when the time is right and she comes into my life.

    • So nice to get a man’s perspective! It’s encouraging to me to know that there are strong, Godly men out there who are waiting for the same thing. I have no doubt that God will bless you with a wonderful partner in His perfect timing.

  3. This is so beautiful and it’s great to see that not everyone is willing to settle for Mr. Right-Now instead of Mr. Right. At the end of the day, waiting will be worth it as will mean you won’t miss him by spending time with someone who isn’t right and you won’t have to deal with the heartache of realizing you settled and now need to leave. Good luck
    Absolutely lovely post :)

  4. Love <3 Love <3 Love <3

    This made my soul smile and you're right waiting is a promise you have to recommit everyday. :D

    Thank you, Jaclyn your words are enlightening, encouraging & so inspiring. If your every decide to write a book, I will buy it, so you can give me an autograph.

Leave a Reply

