Happy Thoughts

I have always kept a journal, but another blog recently inspired me to start a new one… A journal totally dedicated to happy thoughts.

Guidelines for my journal and for life:

- Do what makes you happy.
- Avoid gossip.
- Focus on the bigger picture.
- Be gracious.
- Be sincere, be dorkily earnest.
- Show love towards everyone (including yourself).
- Don’t just walk; strut!
- Practice right speech.
- Treat people as if they were what they ought to be and help them to become what they are capable of becoming.


My journal is divided into 4 sections: (1) gratitude, (2) music, (3) dreams, and (4) random happiness.


Gratitude is where I write everything (big and small) that I’m thankful for. This is particularly helpful on “down” days. Joy floods my heart when I see on how much God has blessed my life.



Music is the section where I write songs to put on my ipod, playlists for certain moods, and lyrics that make me happy. Nothing lifts my spirit quite like a feel good song.


 

Studies have shown that people who write down their goals and aspirations are much more likely to achieve them. Dreams is where I record everything (short-term and long-term) that I want to accomplish in my life.


 

Random happiness is my favorite section of my journal. This is where I document anything happy that happens throughout the day; ranging from text messages, to conversations, to random acts of kindness.


Wishing you peace, love, and happy thoughts– today and always.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Greg on December 1, 2010 - 5:56 pm

    You might try whistling while walking/strutting too if you’re brave enough. I do this often on sidewalks and such around the city, and people give me weird looks but it makes me happy so I keep doing it.

    It’s even better at this time of year because I can whistle Christmas tunes!

    • #2 by Jaclyn Rae on December 1, 2010 - 6:01 pm

      Greg, you’re awesome. If I knew how to whistle, I would do it :)

      • #3 by Greg on December 1, 2010 - 7:21 pm

        Remind me when I see you next, and we’ll see if you can learn how :)

  2. #4 by typedoutloud on December 1, 2010 - 6:14 pm

    Thanks for visiting and commenting on my post today! You were my very first non-bot reader!

    I think your journal idea is awesome, it has totally inspired me to try to throw a little more positivity into my blog!

  3. #5 by Cat on December 1, 2010 - 6:28 pm

    This is a really awesome idea!! I am going to share this on my blog because it’s a great way to stay happy and positive!

  4. #6 by cathydinas on December 2, 2010 - 10:31 am

    Love your handwriting :)
    I have to start using my many journals! Great Post.

  5. #7 by Jaclyn Rae on December 2, 2010 - 10:38 am

    Thank you for the positive responses! I appreciate you all so much :)

  6. #8 by Chris on December 3, 2010 - 6:19 am

    “Be Dorkily Earnest” By FAR the best line ever.

    • #9 by Jaclyn Rae on December 3, 2010 - 7:49 am

      I took that line from another blog but it was too fabulous not to write in my own journal :)

  7. #10 by Carol on December 4, 2010 - 11:58 am

    I have so many journals around my room. I love getting and giving journals. When i read what I have written in the past, it just amazes me how amazing and faithful God is! I love writing. And I really like the way you are journaling there. Awesome! So creative. really like this post :)

  8. #11 by Aimee on March 9, 2011 - 7:58 pm

    I really love this idea! What a fun way to journal. :)

  9. #12 by kanchan shipe on May 24, 2013 - 12:09 am

    its realy awesome… thanx 2 be a happy us!

  10. #13 by Steven Harder on August 5, 2013 - 9:57 pm

    Love this.

  1. Happy Thoughts « Height of Happiness

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 421 other followers

