A Beautiful Mess

I am a beautiful mess.

I constantly trip while walking up stairs… And down stairs… And on my own shadow. I dance around my apartment to Miley Cryrus’ version of Girls Just Wanna Have Fun almost every morning. I cry from laughing too hard at stupid jokes… Usually when no one else is laughing.  I constantly blow bubbles out the window when I’m driving (don’t judge–it’s better than texting and driving!). I’m shy in large crowds, but if you’re a stranger at the store I’ll probably start a conversation about how much I love your hair/bag/shoe laces.

And, you know what? I absolutely love these things about myself. My life is filled with just as much passion and joy as awkward and ridiculous moments. I wouldn’t trade my life, or my quirky habits, for anyone else’s.

Last week I received a Facebook message that crushed my heart a bit. Someone sent a link to a picture of me and commented that my outfit was “hideous” and asked how I often I dress that way. Was I crushed that someone hated my outfit? No, absolutely not. I certainly don’t choose my clothes in the morning with hopes that everyone will think I look fabulous. What weighed heavy on my heart is that someone would go out of their way to be intentionally hurtful. Over what? A pair of printed tights.

What I learned from this person has nothing to do with fashion. I learned that no amount of style, make-up, or conventional attractiveness can mask an ugly heart. Style is cultivating enough confidence to say exactly what you want through your words and appearance. Class is having a heart of genuine kindness, compassion, and appreciation for the creativity of others. Beauty is the bravery to shine a light so bright that others absorb your sunshine and find strength to shine their own. 

Take your own ridiculous, quirky traits and hold them close to your heart. These are the things that make you sparkle and shine. No matter how many people try to drag you down, or send you negative messages, keep your head high and your smile bright. You have a unique style and the world is dying to see it. Don’t worry too much about fitting in– you were created to stand out.

Image Reblogged from Gala Darling

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Chris on January 29, 2011 - 12:02 pm

    At least one of us is beutiful mess. I’ll take the title of ridiculously goofy mess, if you don’t mind ;) And you are right…nothing hides the heart for long. Glad to see yours. To quote an awesome someone “have a beautiful day.”

    • #2 by Jaclyn Rae on January 29, 2011 - 12:06 pm

      You have a beautiful day too, Chris! The title of Ridiculously Goofy Mess is yours :) Haha.

  2. #3 by girlwiththelionheart on January 29, 2011 - 12:13 pm

    really well written…I love the bit about being created to stand out…you are so right ;D

    • #4 by Jaclyn Rae on January 29, 2011 - 12:23 pm

      Thank you so much for the comment! :)

  3. #5 by SWK on January 29, 2011 - 12:41 pm

    Hey, lovely post! And you’re perfectly right. Sorry to hear about the awful message.

    • #6 by Jaclyn Rae on January 29, 2011 - 1:30 pm

      Thanks for checking out my blog– I’ll definitely stop by yours too. :)

  4. #7 by Heather on January 29, 2011 - 1:23 pm

    You let your quirks keep shining through, and I’ll keep basking in them. ;] Everyone deserves to be their own person, and deserves to be told that IT IS OKAY.

    Amazing. Amazing. Amazing.

    • #8 by Jaclyn Rae on January 29, 2011 - 1:30 pm

      Thanks Heather! You are truly fabulous.

  5. #9 by Greg on January 29, 2011 - 1:52 pm

    People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.

  6. #11 by shelbyisrad on January 29, 2011 - 2:45 pm

    Love this as always, <3

  7. #13 by Jordan on January 29, 2011 - 3:37 pm

    “Style is cultivating enough confidence to say exactly what you want through your words and appearance. Class is having a heart of genuine kindness, compassion, and appreciation for the creativity of others. Beauty is the bravery to shine a light so bright that others absorb your sunshine and find strength to shine their own.”

    Perfection! I will definitely follow your blog :)

    All the best!
    J

    • #14 by Jaclyn Rae on January 29, 2011 - 3:40 pm

      Thanks Jordan! I’ll definitely be following yours too. Have a wonderful day!

      P.S. Sunflowers are my favorite :)

  8. #15 by genesismeranda on January 29, 2011 - 4:27 pm

    Hi Jaclyn!

    Thank you for stopping by my blog today :) I LOVED reading this post! It’s awful that some people intentionally hurt others, but it’s good to know that hurt doesn’t have to incapacitate us. Get up and brush of them haters!

    I got involved in MannaRelief because of some mutual friends; I’ve been working there for almost two years and I love it!

    • #16 by Jaclyn Rae on January 30, 2011 - 7:10 am

      Thanks for the comment, Genesis! I think it’s so fabulous that you found a job you love :) I look forward to reading more of your blog.

  9. #17 by scriptorobscura on January 29, 2011 - 10:29 pm

    I LOVE this post! LOVE LOVE LOVE it! You are so right here. More of us should have the courage to be like you! :)

    • #18 by Jaclyn Rae on January 30, 2011 - 7:11 am

      Aww, thank you! You’re so encouraging :) Have a blessed Sunday.

  10. #19 by sizzle on January 30, 2011 - 8:51 am

    Style is all about finding and listening to your own inner voice. That person who took the time to insult your outfit is not a nice person and probably has a really boring sense of fashion to boot.

    • #20 by Jaclyn Rae on January 30, 2011 - 12:20 pm

      Thank you! I agree that style is about finding your own voice :)

  11. #21 by 10ille on January 30, 2011 - 12:18 pm

    I learned so much from reading this! Thanks, girl. :-)

    • #22 by Jaclyn Rae on January 30, 2011 - 12:21 pm

      I’m so glad! Thanks for reading & commenting :)

  12. #23 by sharonchrisafi on January 30, 2011 - 3:30 pm

    Sorry to hear about the message, Jaclyn. But it’s taught you a lot and it didn’t take long for you to figure it out!
    Love this line: “Beauty is the bravery to shine a light so bright that others absorb your sunshine and find strength to shine their own.”
    You are very brave. Thank you for the sunshine you’re giving us with this beautiful blog :-)

    • #24 by Jaclyn Rae on January 30, 2011 - 8:45 pm

      Sharon, your comments bring me sunshine all the time :)

  13. #25 by punkpolkadots on February 1, 2011 - 12:39 pm

    J, i cried while reading this. I’ve recently had someone go out of their way to intentionally be mean to me, while i didnt retaliate, it crushed me. It made me feel so small. Thank you for writing about it and letting me feel i am better than that. And the people that DO matter, will always raise us up.

    You are beautiful inside out, don’t let ANYONE tell you different.
    Hugs. Love. Kisses.

    • #26 by scriptorobscura on February 1, 2011 - 12:59 pm

      Here is a quote:

      Dr. Seuss – “Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”

    • #27 by Jaclyn Rae on February 1, 2011 - 2:33 pm

      Don’t let them get you down, pretty girl! You are a beautiful light and the world needs you :) Sending lots of love your way <3

  14. #28 by Rachael Eliz on February 1, 2011 - 2:24 pm

    Brilliant Jaclyn, thanks :) I so often try to say what you have said, to share what you have said about believing in yourself and being unique. Your words are inspiring, and I hope that you will be pleased that I have used an excerpt from this on my blog to further illustrate the point of loving your uniqueness. Link below. Thanks again! R :)
    http://rachaeleliz94.wordpress.com/2011/02/01/a-glimpse-of-a-beautiful-mess/

    • #29 by Jaclyn Rae on February 1, 2011 - 2:31 pm

      Thanks Rachael! I’m flattered :)

  15. #30 by ♥ regan ♥ on February 1, 2011 - 8:27 pm

    Oh my gosh, I love love love this blog entry! It’s a steady reminder that I am created to be me, they way He wanted me to be.

    I am glad you found my blog, thus leading me to your blog!

    • #31 by Jaclyn Rae on February 1, 2011 - 9:26 pm

      And I’m glad I found your blog! Thank you for checking mine out too :)

  16. #32 by Chloe on February 6, 2011 - 4:22 am

    A wonderful and uplifting post – I love that, although you were temporarily hurt, you picked yourself up and brushed yourself down. And it sounds like you are a girl who knows her true worth – inside and out. Keep being “YOU” my friend, because you are beautiful in both ways,

    Chloe xx

    • #33 by Jaclyn Rae on February 6, 2011 - 12:22 pm

      Awww, you gave me a huge smile! Thanks love :)

  17. #34 by tearfilledsmiles on March 14, 2012 - 1:53 pm

    I love this post (well, your whole blog actually). Anyhow, I tend to get down on myself for my little quirks, but this really made me think a little bit more about being more accepting of myself. Your whole blog is just an inspiration! :)

  1. A Glimpse of A Beautiful Mess | Growing up with God

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 421 other followers

