Turning Criticism Into Compassion

I had a difficult day at work last week. Someone asked my plans for the weekend and I responded with my usual, “church and volunteering at the hospital.” My answer spurred a full-blown critique from the people in my office. Everything from my outfit, to my faith, to my character was criticized. I held it together all day and cried as soon as I reached the safety of my apartment that night.

This recent occurrence made me realize that I can learn a lot by receiving criticism from others. In fact, I think criticism can foster compassion if we choose to respond in a loving way.

5 Ways to Turn Criticism into Compassion

1. Grow in Humility

Receiving criticism from others can reveal areas where we’re lacking. These areas can be revealed by seeds of truth in someone’s words or by the way we respond to false accusations. Pay attention to the responses you have toward others that lack integrity, love, compassion, forgiveness, and/or acceptance. 

2. Practice Forgiveness  

I get wonderful life advice from my 72 year-old friend, Lois. A couple of weeks ago at church we discussed forgiveness. I told Lois that I was struggling to completely forgive someone. Every time I thought I was done with the issue, it came back. Lois looked at me and said, “Jaclyn, honey, sometimes you have to forgive someone every single day. Just keep giving it to God.” My point? We should seize every opportunity to practice forgiveness because we’ll never stop needing to give and receive it.

3. Actively Listen and Respond

I believe that people are inherently good and hurt feelings usually result from miscommunication. Active listening is a dying skill that need not be. Instead of inwardly fuming or developing a rebuttal while someone is speaking, try listening. Being a good listener and having an ability see things from another perspective will help you in every aspect of life.

4. Choose Empathy Over Anger

We’re all on different paths but we feel the same emotions. You and I both have bad days. You and I both say things that we regret later. You and I have both hurt others and been hurt by others. The next time you start feeling angry with someone, try to remember that they feel things just like you. Maybe they just need someone to extend kindness and love to them today.

5. Receive Feedback Without Losing Confidence

As much as we need to have compassion for others, we also need to have compassion for ourselves. Even the most kind, generous, and loving people will be attacked at some point– it comes with being human. Showing compassion to yourself means that you can admit to having flaws but not lose confidence when people call you out on them. Instead, you listen, consider their advice, and move forward without loss of faith in yourself. You’re becoming the person that you love and doing your best to help others along the way. And, darling, that’s what counts.


, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by monicastangledweb on April 26, 2011 - 10:29 pm

    I’m so sorry you had a bad day. But, way to go, turning a negative into a positive, uplifting lesson. Good for you! You’re a better person for it. All the stronger, too. :)

  2. #2 by Annette on April 27, 2011 - 3:04 am

    I think the way you handled this event in you life shows just how much love and light you have in your heart. These are lessons that make us better people and remind us how important compassion and forgivenes are, both for ourselves and others. Your strength is palpable. Wishing you lots of lovely days

  3. #3 by Julie ~ jbulie's blog on April 27, 2011 - 4:22 am

    It made me feel sad to hear what you write that you were criticized to the point of hurt. I’m sorry to read these words. It makes me extremely happy that you turned a sad situation into a postiive one by first crying and letting it out, then finding a way to deal with it in a loving manner.

    Nobody likes criticism. It’s my biggest fault. The words I hear tend to stay with me for such a long time, if they are negative. How sad. Still, I think your friend Lois has some great wisdom. I too have had an older friend mentoring me. She keeps repeating, don’t worry, don’t worry, we are all human, we all make mistakes.

    xo

    Julie

  4. #4 by littlecurio on May 1, 2011 - 11:38 pm

    Oh I can’t believe people would criticise you in the workplace like that! Don’t let it become bullying, in any sense of the word.
    There is a difference between constructive criticism and plain old negativity. Just separate the wheat from the chaff under God’s direction and keep going my girl! Your words are really inspiring…

  1. Freestyle Friday: News & Reviews Edition « Indigo Moods

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 421 other followers

