Ever Blessed

Yesterday I was reminded that circumstances constantly change.

I spent my volunteer shift at the hospital rocking a newborn baby to sleep. As I drove home, I received a text informing me that a friend had a miscarriage.

In the evening I had dinner with one of my best friends who is moving across the country this week. As she leaves, other friends are returning home to start their post-graduation lives.

Two of my dearest friends got engaged last night and cannot wait to start their lives together. At the same time, I know people enduring the devastation of divorce.

Even the best of circumstances change.

I’m reminded that there are some things this world can’t satisfy. Beauty, wealth, security, youth– it all fades eventually. Even if I’m blessed with a beautiful marriage and a dream job someday, I know I’ll face challenges that I can’t even imagine.

In the past, I pursued God because I wanted Him to change my circumstances… But, in that pursuit, I fell in love and His love lifted me above my circumstances. And even though it feels like everyone is moving on and doing great things with their lives while I’m standing still, I’ve never been more blessed.

Maybe happiness isn’t receiving all of God’s blessing on our terms. Maybe happiness is the result of being humbled in the light of who God is. Without Him, I am nothing. In Him, I have everything.

“God gives, God takes. God’s name be ever blessed.”  –Job 1: 21

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by shelbyisrad on May 23, 2011 - 8:57 pm

    “Maybe happiness isn’t receiving all of God’s blessing on our terms. Maybe happiness is the result of being humbled in the light of who God is. Without Him, I am nothing. In Him, I have everything.”

    beautiful insight my dear!

  2. #3 by Annette on May 24, 2011 - 1:02 am

    Such an insightful post. These words ring so true for me. Thanks so much for your words.

  3. #5 by Heather on May 24, 2011 - 5:35 am

    I am so tempted to create an exhibit of art that has been inspired by your posts… ha ha ha! That would be so much fun!

    • #6 by Jaclyn Rae on May 24, 2011 - 2:29 pm

      That would definitely be the biggest compliment ever! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 421 other followers

