Keep Believing Life Can Be Brighter

I know that life is busy and hard, and that there’s a crushing pressure to just settle down and get a real job and khaki pants and a haircut. But don’t. Please don’t. Please keep believing that life can be better, brighter, broader, because of the art that you make. Please keep demonstrating the courage that it takes to swim upstream in a world that prefers putting away for retirement to putting pen to paper, that chooses practicality over poetry, that values you more for going to the gym than going to the deepest places in your soul. Please keep making art for people like me, people who need the magic and imagination and honesty of great art to make the day-to-day world a little more bearable.

And if, for whatever reason, you’ve stopped– stopped believing in your voice, stopped fighting to find the time–start today.

- Shauna Niequist, Cold Tangerines

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by ~L on August 12, 2011 - 10:21 am

    This is beautiful! Oh how I needed to read this today! Did you write this? I love it!!! :)

    • #2 by Jaclyn Rae on August 12, 2011 - 10:25 am

      I did not write this, Shauna Niequist did. Isn’t she fabulous? :)

  2. #3 by ~L on August 12, 2011 - 10:28 am

    It is great! Who is she? Ilove it;)

    • #4 by Jaclyn Rae on August 12, 2011 - 11:21 am

      She wrote Cold Tangerines and Bittersweet. This quote is from Cold Tangerines.

  3. #5 by Carol on August 12, 2011 - 2:16 pm

    SEE!!! this is why I know we are sisters in Jesus!! and great minds do think alike :) I read both of Shauna Niequist books, two years ago and they are amazing!! YAY :) your blog always makes me smile. Have a great weekend beautiful girl! Praying for you.

  4. #7 by Heather on August 12, 2011 - 4:26 pm

    <3 This needs to be painted onto the side of a building… with rainbows… and hearts… and eyes… but my practical side is telling me not to go and get arrested for graffiti in a small town. HA HA! Oh the irony…

  5. #8 by on August 13, 2011 - 12:07 am

    Speaking straight to my heart. Love it. This part was my favorite: Please keep making art for people like me,

  6. #9 by countingducks on August 13, 2011 - 5:34 am

    lovely thoughts to brighten my day

  7. #10 by K on August 13, 2011 - 6:07 pm

    Just finished Bittersweet tonight! :) I think her books are some of the most inspiring I’ve read in a while. I know I’ll keep re-reading them, too. :) Sending courage and prayers your way, J, as you embark on your new job and adventure. God has beautiful things in store for you.

  8. #11 by shelbyisrad on August 14, 2011 - 6:38 pm

    i really need to get my hands on her books!

  9. #12 by Julie on August 15, 2011 - 6:02 am

    chill bumps. so nice to be reminded that there are kindred souls out there and that we are not alone. love you, beauty.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 421 other followers

