I Write To Hear My Own Voice

I write to hear my own voice.

When I neglect to write, I get lost in my life. It’s like I need every thought to stretch out its roots to find where my heart is grounded.

I write when I question my purpose… When fear creeps in and paralyzes my creativity. When I wonder if God forgot about me.

I write to thank God for the trials… When I realize that I was not forgotten and that, really, trials are some of the most formative blessings I’ve been granted.

I write to find significance in the things that everyday life offers me… When I realize that every life has to be a testimony to something truly personal and beautiful.

I write to protect the memories worth keeping safe. The way it feels to discover a new path. The way it feels to pour life into something without asking for a reward. The way it feels to dance and swim in the grace of God.

I write because I must.

I must write about the things I love, the things I find, and the things I lose. I must write about the beauty in breaking. I must write about the most sincere and honest parts of my story. 

I write to hear my own voice.

photo credit to shannon blue

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Annette on September 4, 2011 - 2:34 pm

    Beautifully written, I’m glad you write x

  2. #2 by shelbyisrad on September 4, 2011 - 7:03 pm

    I was missing your writing! So glad to read it again! <3 keep on writing my love!

  3. #3 by Missjlouise on September 5, 2011 - 1:29 am

    Feel like like you have written my heart …

  4. #4 by on September 5, 2011 - 2:01 am

    Hey! Don’t you just love to write? I think writers write to live things twice. I like to think I write down my life experiences in a way that perhaps I might learn from my mistakes and not repeat them. It doesn’t always work.

    Have you ever noticed that writers are the most silent people you will ever meet? I know I am. Or at least I was. Now that I’m blogging, I can’t seem to shut myself up. I am going to have to learn that one. Hope you and your readers are well.

    Julie

    • #5 by Heather on September 5, 2011 - 6:01 am

      I have always considered myself a writer… I have filled journals since I was a small child, and I loved coming up with fantastic stories to write in my notebooks. I have never been more quiet than I have been for the past year. My nickname used to be Chatty Cathy. ;) I have grown a lot, a handful of unfortunate things have happened that have caused me to be much more careful about openly sharing my voice wherever and whenever. I do still talk a lot though.

      I think, no matter how much a person talks, if there is a story they are dying to tell but don’t know who to tell it to, they tell it to several pieces of paper… or several pages on a Microsoft Word document. I think if they are struggling with something, they will write to figure it out. You can be a very quiet writer, but don’t forget about us loud ones too. ;) I understand writing so I might learn from my mistakes though… ha ha!

      Beautiful comment. You allowed me to think, write, and process things. You helped me to examine my life again in an unexpected way… Thank you.

  5. #6 by countingducks on September 5, 2011 - 2:49 am

    I’m glad you like to write because I enjoy reading what you’ve writen. Long may it continue

  6. #7 by scrambled7 on September 5, 2011 - 4:26 am

    What he said ^^^^^.

  7. #8 by Heather on September 5, 2011 - 6:02 am

    Jaclyn, this is so beautifully sincere. Thank you!

  8. #9 by emjayandthem on September 5, 2011 - 7:32 am

    I’ve missed your writings and am glad you write. Period.

    Cheers! MJ

  9. #10 by ginanorma on September 5, 2011 - 5:53 pm

    Thank you< i love the way you put it about the roots, this is the exact reason I must write and do!
    Love your post!

  10. #11 by ginanorma on September 5, 2011 - 5:56 pm

    I’m over at http://www.contemplatingbeauty.blogspot.com check me out if you have time, we have some things in common!

  11. #12 by Joceline on September 6, 2011 - 10:19 am

    beautifully said. I write……..for all those reasons as well and because it helps to keep me sane!

  12. #13 by andreateggart on September 6, 2011 - 4:20 pm

    Love this girlfriend. This is a beautiful post (as always) Keep on rocking! xoxo

  13. #14 by Jaclyn Rae on September 7, 2011 - 7:07 pm

    Thanks for the encouragement! Love you all. XO

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 421 other followers

